Officers & Committees


Note: SPD officers who are federal government employees represent themselves as private citizens and not the federal government in any and all Society business.

The SPD officers are:

SPD Committee The SPD Committee consists of the officers (above) and the following Committee members:

Former Officers and Committee Members

PDF chars of past officers and committee members:

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee (see by-laws) submits nominations to the SPD Secretary for vacancies in the positions of Officers and Committee-persons. The Nominating Committee ascertains the willingness of its nominees to serve if elected.

Current Nominating Committee members are:
  • Cooper Downs (Chair)
  • Gianna Cauzzi
  • Jie Zhang
  • Maria Kazachenko

Hale and Harvey Prize Committee

  • Tim Bastian 2019-2023 (Chair)
  • Jiong Qiu 2019-2023
  • Yuhong Fan 2021-2025
  • Laurel Rachmeler 2021-2025
  • Säm Krucker 2021-2025

Nominating Task Force

  • Tom Berger (chair)
  • Sarah Gibson
  • Marcel Corchado
  • John Leibacher

Popular Writing Award Committee

  • James Mason (Chair)
  • Nishu Karna
  • Erika Palmerio (2022 – )
  • Trae Winter (2022 – )

Many thanks to Angela Des Jardins and Cooper Downs for their 10 years of service.

Public Policy Committee

  • Gordon Emslie (Chair)
  • Ian Cohen
  • Ofer Cohen
  • Nicole Duncan
  • Graham Kerr
  • Brian Welsch
  • Shea Hess Weber

Education and Public Outreach Committee

  • Milo Buitrago-Casas (Chair) (he/his)
  • Mitzi Adams (she/her)
  • Alexander Koufos (he/his)
  • Maria Weber (she/her)
  • Santiago Vargas Dominguez (he/his)
  • Alessandra (Ale) Abe Pacini (she/her)
  • Savannah Sky Perez-Piel (she/her)


  • Alisdair Davey

SPD Student Committee

  • Gordon Emslie (Chair)
  • Marc DeRosa (ex officio)
  • Lisa Upton
  • Matthias Rempel

Metcalf Travel Award Committee

  • Maria Kazachenko (Chair)
  • Michael Kirk
  • Andrés Muñoz-Jaramillo
  • Lucas Tarr

Press Officer

SolarNews Editor

  • Sherry Chhabra


  • Jack Thomas


  • Brian Welsch (AAS Committee on Advocacy and Public Policy)
  • Trae Winter (AAS Astronomy Education Board)