George Ellery Hale Prize

Terry Forbes 2016 Hale Prize Winner

Terry Forbes, 2016

The 2016 George Ellery Hale Prize for outstanding contributions to the field of solar astronomy is awarded to Terry G. Forbes (University of New Hampshire) for his significant contributions to the theory of magnetic reconnection, for his development of important new models of the physics of solar flares and coronal mass ejections, and for his achievements mentoring students and junior scientists in the solar physics community.